Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Ritter's Steam Kettle Cooking. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Valgarcia130 2 days ago

Jambalaya

My favorite dish by far. Love the shrimp, chicken and pork all together. It never gets old for me. Great job guys on this dish!

Guest 6 days ago

Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

loved this dish

Guest 17 days ago

Lobster Gumbo

I found out about this stunning venue the easy way yesterday. I was lucky or fortunate enough to be gifted a freebie meal here during an outing with the GF. What a generous individual. The quality of the food at Ritter's definitely enhanced my sense of gratitude. I ordered a half of THE CHOWDAH FRIES. I expected the chowder, cheese, bacon, tomatoes, and green onions to be haphazardly heaped onto the fries. Much to my delight and surprise, the ingredients were blended thoroughly into the fries. This already set the chowder fries apart. The portion for a half order is hulking. I asked out of incredulity if I might have been given a full order of chowder fries by mistake. Nope. The half order easily serves one if not two people. The fries themselves are especially sabroso. Each fry is well seasoned and lightly crisped. The chowder itself tastes richer after each bite. The clam meat meets the teeth tenderly and satisfies every time. This dish is far yummier than the usual junkyard of loaded fries. A sumptuous repast. I tried the shrimp po' boy. The shrimp could have a little more kick or seasoning on them, but I think Ritter's intends a refreshing dish here rather than a spicy one. The tomato slices on the po' boy were a most mellow forkful. This po' boy would suffice as an excellent lunch order on a regular basis. Another member of my party had the pan roast. I did not get a chance to try it. I do not think I would have had the chance. The pan roast looked impeccable. This one is not a sharing dish. Its a an opportunity to practice devouring.

Reinav20 18 days ago

House Pan Roast

The most delicious food ever. This tomato based soup will have you licking your fingers. If you love sea food, you'll love ritter's house pan roast. Top it off with the level of spicy from 1-10. My favorite is level 5. From 0 to 10 I give this restaurant a 1000.

37wildrod 19 days ago

Ritter's Chowder

Had it today with red and med hot...this is a must have fantastic and service ,was great

Latonjalj 25 days ago

House Gumbo

The Gumbo was delish! I felt like I clicked my feet and I was in Louisiana. The fried pickles were good too.

Carlcordes about 1 month ago

Fried Okra "Devils Popcorn"

My new favorite starter! Excellent spice content with a kick. Ratchet up a notch with the sauce. Too bad I don't live near here. But this is a must stop on future visits to HB. Maybe you should open a cafe in Las Vegas.

Vhfimbres about 1 month ago

Combo Pan Roast

Ok. So, where do I start? I'm going to go way back to 1996 when I first met my husband. Both of us are from Southern Cali, but would often make trips to Las Vegas for a quick getaway. On one particular visit, my brother-in-law told us that we needed to try this place called the Oyster Bar located in the Palace Station casino. So, one night we all headed over to the Oyster Bar. After about an hour of waiting in line, we sat down and ordered several dishes, including: combo pan roast, oysters in the shell, and gumbo. I had never tried any of these dishes. But let me tell you, all three were amazing. Especially the pan roast! Something about the creamy tomato soup base with the perfect blend of spices and seafood. It's a special treat! Really. So special, in fact, that many times I've searched online for a good copycat recipe, but unfortunately I was never successful duplicating this incredible dish. I honestly must have tried ten different recipes over the years. All promised great results. Ummm, sadly no.😢 I must say that part of the experience at the Oyster Bar is the fun atmosphere. My husband and brother-in-law had always enjoyed talking and joking with the original chefs. The two of them probably ate there no less than forty times since 96 (me, maybe fifteen times). They really got to know the chefs pretty well. I didn't know them that well. However, I did notice about fifteen years ago that the "OG" chefs had left and new chefs had replaced them. After that (my husband would agree), it was never quite the same experience, but the food was still always great. So let's move on to how Ritter's fits in to all of this... it's Mothers Day 2019. I work in Arcadia, Ca. I am scheduled to work this day. My husband and daughter are coming to have lunch with me. My husband tells me to pick a place to eat. I turn to Yelp because I am not that familiar with the local restaurants (I commute an hour to work). I am craving shrimp or fish so I type fish "n" chips and I end up with several suggestions, including Ritter's Kettle Cooking. I have no idea what kettle cooking is so I spend a few minutes looking over the menu and as I'm reviewing the menu I'm thinking, "this reminds me of Oyster Bar in Las Vegas-sounds good." I send my husband the information, including pics and the name of the restaurant and I'm like "let's try this place-looks good" Within a minute, he sends me back a text that reads...wait for it...."I wonder if that's Ritter from the Palace Station Oyster Bar?" Well folks, turns out it is!!! Remember those chefs I was telling you about way back when that left around fifteen years ago? Chef Ritter is one of them. I found out recently that he even helped develop the Oyster Bar menu when he worked there. Almost done folks... 😊 So, course we went to Ritter's Kettle Cooking on Mother's Day and it was even more amazing than I remember in Las Vegas. Chef Ritter is an amazing chef and my husband and I are so happy to have found this place. We are still kicking ourselves that we didn't know he had a restaurant (actually several restaurants) throughout Southern California. I can tell you we will eat here until we are old and gray and can honestly say that Chef Ritter is one of the most amazing and talented chefs ever. Please ladies and gents.... run, don't walk to Ritter's Kettle Cooking. Your tummies will be happy I said so. Heidi Fimbres

Juliazavodny about 2 months ago

Lobster Pan Roast

The pan roast is always SO good! The flavor, the heat (if you prefer), and the lobster is so tasty and fresh! I recommend it!

Anthonychan91 about 2 months ago

Chowder Fries

It's hard to find any reason to fault their chowder fries. The fries are nice and crispy, with their interiors like mashed potatoes but their exterior super crispy and seasoned with Cajun seasonings. The chowder is covered on top of the fries with bacon green onions and cheese. The plate goes under the broiler to melt the cheese and it just melts the cheese into all the crevices. Every bite you take you get crispy fries with a hint of Cajun seasonings, bacon, gooey cheese, green onions, bacon, chowder and chunks of clam. Honestly I get this dish every time I come here.

Rachelle 2 months ago

Cilantro Chicken

5 was a little too spicy for me, but it was delicious.

Liliales 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

This dish is sooo good! The garlic buttery sauce is delicious and the shrimp is always cooked nicely. I usually order this at spiciness level 7, making the sauce even tastier.

Kmwilliams52 2 months ago

New England Clam Chowder

This is the best clam chowder I've had on the west coast by far. This is a must try, but don't forget about their gumbo and pan roast either! Who am I kidding, I haven't had a bad dish at this restaurant to date and I've been there more times than I can count.

Kerrymwilliamssr 2 months ago

House Gumbo

👍🏽 Fantastic tasting gumbo & French bread & Sweet butter and strawberry lemonade, The Chef & food server was extraordinarily Nice kind and helpful, My wife & I , my sister and my cousin we're all very pleased and impressed with the service , I plan on returning with more family members and friends and I recommend to all gumbo lovers what a great incredible place to eat!

Mail4craigb 3 months ago

Combo Pan Roast

Super delicious! I've been a fan of Chef Ritter since his days at Oyster Bar in Vegas. It was my pleasure meeting him at the Alhambra location during grand opening, then again as he strolled around the restaurant greeting the patrons a couple weeks ago. His preparation of the "House" and "Combo" Pan Roasts are by far better than any of the competition! Keep up the great work. Can't wait to come in for more tasty morsels 😄

Ani.Agabalian 3 months ago

Shrimp Pan Roast

Absolutely amazing dish! The service is always prompt and polite.

Kmwilliams52 3 months ago

Lobster Gumbo

I did not know about this place until about a week ago when one of my co-workers told me about it. I was skeptical at first because why would there be good Cajun food right here in Orange County? Also, I'll be honest, I cannot handle a lot of spice, so I figured I probably wouldn't find anything that I liked at Ritter's. Lo and behold the spice scale they offer ranges from a 1-10 which gives a lot of flexibility to those of us who cannot handle really spicy food. I went in at a 2 on the spice scale for my lobster gumbo and figured that would probably be a safe bet, and I was right. Not only did it have amazing flavor, but they were very generous on the lobster portioning as well. I think the 16oz is a very good portioning size, especially when you throw in the rice on top of it! Who would have known a place delivering such high quality and flavor would be right in the heart of Orange County?! Not to mention they provided extraordinary customer service and made sure my drink was never empty. Thanks for an amazing dining experience! I can't wait to go back with my girlfriend and my friends who have never been. Thanks for an amazing first

Tamaratjordan 4 months ago

Fried Shrimp Po' Boy

This was the best Fried Shrimp Po' Boy I've ever had. The shrimp was fried to perfection and the coleslaw topping was perfect. This is my second visit to Ritter's and I can't wait to keep coming back and trying the different items on the menu. Don't forget to get an order of the Chowder Fries. They are heaven on earth!

Ssaenz1984 4 months ago

Chicken & Sausage Pan Roast

Some of the best food I've had. I can't wait to go back. The tomato cream sauce was absolutely delicious.

Ejuell.Sunworks 4 months ago

Combo Pan Roast

Pan roast was very good oysters very fresh and sweet

Donmaddas 3 days ago

House Pan Roast

OMG.... The huge shrimp and chunks of lobster along with all the crab in this heavenly creamy tomato bisque with the right amount of CAJUN SEASONING is absolutely to die for....🤩🤩🤩

Amanda.Bacino 11 days ago

Cilantro Chicken

AMAZING flavor!!! Everything I was hoping it would be and more! Craving it again as I type the review! The bacon wrapped shrimp and fried pickles are also amazing! Would recommend 100%

Reinav20 18 days ago

Bread Pudding

Left me wanting more!!! Perfect to eat after a tasty meal. It's perfection.

Nhawileh 19 days ago

Bouillabaisse

This was my first time at Ritter's. I was going to order the basic stuff, po'boy sandwich or clam chowder. I asked the waiter about the bouillanbaise because I had never tried this dish & was a little apprehensive to order it. The waiter assured me I'd like it. I didn't like it, I LOVED it!!! It was one of the best seafood dishes I've had. It's filled with delicious shrimp, crab, lobster, clams & mussels. I'm going again tomorrow before we go back to Phoenix. Wish we had Ritter's in Arizona.

Sideshow346 19 days ago

House Pan Roast

I have seen this restaurant on yelp and finally gave it a try. The Pan Roast was REALLY good!!!! I am dying to return to get the Cioppino and jambalaya next. If you like cajun or creole, this is definitely the place

Valerie031 about 1 month ago

House Pan Roast

We were in New Orleans in May and were missing the flavors. Imagine our surprise when vacationing in Huntington Beach to find this gem of a restaurant! The house gumbo was also amazing and loved our service. The decor of the restaurant was beautiful! We will visit the Alhambra location soon as already going through withdrawals!

C about 1 month ago

Crab Pan Roast

Best pan roast that I've ever tried! It is well seasoned and rice is cooked to perfection. Would definitely come back and highly recommend it. Thinking about the food is making me hungry.

Rjnmama about 1 month ago

House Pan Roast

I love Ritters! The house pan roast is my fav dish but you can't go wrong, all the dishes are delicious! Ritters is my fav restaurant, the food is so tasty and they have great customer service. Highly recommended!

Karan about 2 months ago

Jambalaya

It was delicious! I live in Fullerton always make the trip out there to HB for my favorite southern dish in OC. Ritters is the spot for cajun food and beer!

Edvia about 2 months ago

Etouffee

I grew up in Texas (not quite Louisiana, but close enough to know good creole from bad), and one of my favorite dishes is crawfish etoufee. Ever since moving to CA, I've struggled to find good cajun/creole cuisine—some can be okay, some not-so-much, almost none are excellent (in my opinion). So I tried Ritter's for lunch with some trepidation, and was pleasantly surprised by the etoufee, as it was very, very good. Probably the best I've had in SoCal. There were shrimp too, not just crawfish (though it had plenty of those critters in there!) and HUGE portions. In fact, this is probably the first time in my life I've had to take home leftovers when eating etoufee! Needless to say, I'll be back. I'm curious to try more of the menu (those bacon-wrapped shrimp sound killer), but the etoufee is so good, I may just end up ordering that over and over again.

Chavenia0226 2 months ago

Chicken & Sausage Pan Roast

I LOVE this place! Talk about Down Home cooking without all the work! They have many traditional dishes that taste almost has good as my Granny's creole cooking. I had the chicken and sausage Pan Roast with shrimp added, at a piping 10 seasoning level and it was excellent. If you cajun food, you must give this place a try!

Stickwit2 2 months ago

Chicken & Sausage Pan Roast

The Chicken & Sausage Pan Roast is sooooooo good!! Dipping the piece of bread they give you into the heavenly broth. I like spicy so I usually get around a 7-8 so I can eat it without sweating bullets.

Donmaddas 2 months ago

House Pan Roast

THIS STUFF IS THE BOMB!!!! BEEN TO THE OYSTER BAR IN VEGAS ... WAS SO GLAD THEY OPENED HERE IN SOCAL

Br7sv9x8 3 months ago

House Pan Roast

This house pan roast is the best that I have ever had. The flavor were so rich and savory I could not stop enjoy the wonderful flavors. Most definitely will return again and again.

Xnyxix 3 months ago

Shrimp Pan Roast

The best shrimp pan roast I've had in my life! This wasn't the only dish to blow my mind but I absolutely devoured it. Mouthwatering and perfectly seasoned .

Kmwilliams52 3 months ago

House Gumbo

I did not know about this place until about a week ago when one of my co-workers told me about it. I was skeptical at first because why would there be good Cajun food right here in Orange County? Also, I'll be honest, I cannot handle a lot of spice, so I figured I probably wouldn't find anything that I liked at Ritter's. Lo and behold the spice scale they offer ranges from a 1-10 which gives a lot of flexibility to those of us who cannot handle really spicy food. I went in at a 2 on the spice scale for my lobster gumbo and figured that would probably be a safe bet, and I was right. Not only did it have amazing flavor, but they were very generous on the lobster portioning as well. I think the 16oz is a very good portioning size, especially when you throw in the rice on top of it! Who would have known a place delivering such high quality and flavor would be right in the heart of Orange County?! Not to mention they provided extraordinary customer service and made sure my drink was never empty. Thanks for an amazing dining experience! I can't wait to go back with my girlfriend and my friends who have never been. You must go!

Jason.Whitley 3 months ago

Shrimp Gumbo

OMG OMG OMG!!! Hands down the best Shrimp Gumbo in all of Southern California. You have to travel to Louisiana to get it this good. I tell everyone I know about Ritters SKC and everyone says the same... most are hooked like me ;)

Jennyhang08 4 months ago

House Pan Roast

Excellent flavor, very fulfilling, comparable to the Oyster Bar in Las Vegas. I've been to all the locations. Great service and consistent food flavor. Highly recommend you try it. I'm a regular customer.

Hellokitty.Anna 4 months ago

House Pan Roast

It was delicious great place first time also tried the po boy shrimp sandwich yummy food was amazing it was like being in the heart of Louisiana. Great little setting, also great service the food was absolutely amazing I loved even had to order extra food to go that's how good it was, scrumptious



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA