Add Your Review

Thanks for visiting Ritter's Steam Kettle Cooking. We'd love to have your feedback!

Don't remember the name of your dish? Find it on our menu!

By submitting, you agree to our , and .

Our Latest Reviews

Kalibombshell 24 days ago

House Gumbo

This House Combo is Everythannng! From the savory sauce, to the shrimp, to the lobster and sausage pieces, I couldn't get enough! Definitely recommend this dish, it's one of my favorites. You won't regret it!

Dieharddanzig 29 days ago

Bouillabaisse

Been here a few times so far and haven't been disappointed first tried the shrimp po boy and it was great then the pan roast mix with shrimp,crab,lobster and clams on the second trip it was fantastic and then had the Bouillabaisse on my last trip and man it was so delicious if your a seafood aficionado youll need to order this with a good medium spice depending on your liking very good dishes all around and also great appetizers and beer choices make this place the go to spot off of valley in Alhambra now to try the other 2 locations is on my list most definitely.

Bbritx about 1 month ago

Fried Shrimp Po' Boy

This is one of my favorite items! It's so delicious with not too much heat and is a big serving, you might have some leftovers. The Cajun fries that come with it are amazing as well! Yummmmm

Canelajay about 2 months ago

Chicken & Sausage Pan Roast

So good. Just the right amount of all the ingredients blended together.

Cupid6464 about 2 months ago

Combo Pan Roast

Muy gusto!😋😋😋

Down2earth62 about 2 months ago

House Pan Roast

We added Andouille sausage to this dish, and ordered a seven out of ten for spice/heat level. I did not think that was spicy at all, and would like to try it again at a nine or more. The flavor was really good, and I was glad that we added the sausage. It is not really a good "date" food, as the tails are still on the shrimp (so it can be awkward to eat in front of someone new). I still recommend it for flavor, and I will be back to try other foods.

Valgarcia130 2 months ago

Jambalaya

My favorite dish by far. Love the shrimp, chicken and pork all together. It never gets old for me. Great job guys on this dish!

Guest 2 months ago

Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

loved this dish

Guest 3 months ago

Lobster Gumbo

I found out about this stunning venue the easy way yesterday. I was lucky or fortunate enough to be gifted a freebie meal here during an outing with the GF. What a generous individual. The quality of the food at Ritter's definitely enhanced my sense of gratitude. I ordered a half of THE CHOWDAH FRIES. I expected the chowder, cheese, bacon, tomatoes, and green onions to be haphazardly heaped onto the fries. Much to my delight and surprise, the ingredients were blended thoroughly into the fries. This already set the chowder fries apart. The portion for a half order is hulking. I asked out of incredulity if I might have been given a full order of chowder fries by mistake. Nope. The half order easily serves one if not two people. The fries themselves are especially sabroso. Each fry is well seasoned and lightly crisped. The chowder itself tastes richer after each bite. The clam meat meets the teeth tenderly and satisfies every time. This dish is far yummier than the usual junkyard of loaded fries. A sumptuous repast. I tried the shrimp po' boy. The shrimp could have a little more kick or seasoning on them, but I think Ritter's intends a refreshing dish here rather than a spicy one. The tomato slices on the po' boy were a most mellow forkful. This po' boy would suffice as an excellent lunch order on a regular basis. Another member of my party had the pan roast. I did not get a chance to try it. I do not think I would have had the chance. The pan roast looked impeccable. This one is not a sharing dish. Its a an opportunity to practice devouring.

Reinav20 3 months ago

House Pan Roast

The most delicious food ever. This tomato based soup will have you licking your fingers. If you love sea food, you'll love ritter's house pan roast. Top it off with the level of spicy from 1-10. My favorite is level 5. From 0 to 10 I give this restaurant a 1000.

37wildrod 3 months ago

Ritter's Chowder

Had it today with red and med hot...this is a must have fantastic and service ,was great

Latonjalj 3 months ago

House Gumbo

The Gumbo was delish! I felt like I clicked my feet and I was in Louisiana. The fried pickles were good too.

Carlcordes 3 months ago

Fried Okra "Devils Popcorn"

My new favorite starter! Excellent spice content with a kick. Ratchet up a notch with the sauce. Too bad I don't live near here. But this is a must stop on future visits to HB. Maybe you should open a cafe in Las Vegas.

Vhfimbres 3 months ago

Combo Pan Roast

Ok. So, where do I start? I'm going to go way back to 1996 when I first met my husband. Both of us are from Southern Cali, but would often make trips to Las Vegas for a quick getaway. On one particular visit, my brother-in-law told us that we needed to try this place called the Oyster Bar located in the Palace Station casino. So, one night we all headed over to the Oyster Bar. After about an hour of waiting in line, we sat down and ordered several dishes, including: combo pan roast, oysters in the shell, and gumbo. I had never tried any of these dishes. But let me tell you, all three were amazing. Especially the pan roast! Something about the creamy tomato soup base with the perfect blend of spices and seafood. It's a special treat! Really. So special, in fact, that many times I've searched online for a good copycat recipe, but unfortunately I was never successful duplicating this incredible dish. I honestly must have tried ten different recipes over the years. All promised great results. Ummm, sadly no.😢 I must say that part of the experience at the Oyster Bar is the fun atmosphere. My husband and brother-in-law had always enjoyed talking and joking with the original chefs. The two of them probably ate there no less than forty times since 96 (me, maybe fifteen times). They really got to know the chefs pretty well. I didn't know them that well. However, I did notice about fifteen years ago that the "OG" chefs had left and new chefs had replaced them. After that (my husband would agree), it was never quite the same experience, but the food was still always great. So let's move on to how Ritter's fits in to all of this... it's Mothers Day 2019. I work in Arcadia, Ca. I am scheduled to work this day. My husband and daughter are coming to have lunch with me. My husband tells me to pick a place to eat. I turn to Yelp because I am not that familiar with the local restaurants (I commute an hour to work). I am craving shrimp or fish so I type fish "n" chips and I end up with several suggestions, including Ritter's Kettle Cooking. I have no idea what kettle cooking is so I spend a few minutes looking over the menu and as I'm reviewing the menu I'm thinking, "this reminds me of Oyster Bar in Las Vegas-sounds good." I send my husband the information, including pics and the name of the restaurant and I'm like "let's try this place-looks good" Within a minute, he sends me back a text that reads...wait for it...."I wonder if that's Ritter from the Palace Station Oyster Bar?" Well folks, turns out it is!!! Remember those chefs I was telling you about way back when that left around fifteen years ago? Chef Ritter is one of them. I found out recently that he even helped develop the Oyster Bar menu when he worked there. Almost done folks... 😊 So, course we went to Ritter's Kettle Cooking on Mother's Day and it was even more amazing than I remember in Las Vegas. Chef Ritter is an amazing chef and my husband and I are so happy to have found this place. We are still kicking ourselves that we didn't know he had a restaurant (actually several restaurants) throughout Southern California. I can tell you we will eat here until we are old and gray and can honestly say that Chef Ritter is one of the most amazing and talented chefs ever. Please ladies and gents.... run, don't walk to Ritter's Kettle Cooking. Your tummies will be happy I said so. Heidi Fimbres

Juliazavodny 4 months ago

Lobster Pan Roast

The pan roast is always SO good! The flavor, the heat (if you prefer), and the lobster is so tasty and fresh! I recommend it!

Anthonychan91 4 months ago

Chowder Fries

It's hard to find any reason to fault their chowder fries. The fries are nice and crispy, with their interiors like mashed potatoes but their exterior super crispy and seasoned with Cajun seasonings. The chowder is covered on top of the fries with bacon green onions and cheese. The plate goes under the broiler to melt the cheese and it just melts the cheese into all the crevices. Every bite you take you get crispy fries with a hint of Cajun seasonings, bacon, gooey cheese, green onions, bacon, chowder and chunks of clam. Honestly I get this dish every time I come here.

Rachelle 4 months ago

Cilantro Chicken

5 was a little too spicy for me, but it was delicious.

Breddairie 25 days ago

Combo Pan Roast

Our family decided to try Ritter's which was down the street from my mother-in-law's job. The restaurant was very clean inside and arrival time there was not much people in the restaurant. The waiter was very friendly, efficient and took care of us and every need we had. when it came to the food, I have to say that although I loved an Etoufee, the combo pan roast was the best dish I've ever had tasted. when food can only give you one word to describe it, wow, you know it's good. The spice level was just right and all the ingredients was balanced. Any of the Pan Roasts I'm going to assume here will be delicious as they use the same sauce. The flavor was phenomenal and although this was a tomato creamy base, it wasn't overpowering and it actually highlighted every single ingredient in the dish. This was just an amazing experience and overall an enjoyable time to share some Cajun food. Ritters is the place.

Guest about 1 month ago

Ritter's Chowder

Must have! Best chowder I have ever had! Worth my hour drive!

Jeannine about 1 month ago

Shrimp Scampi

This dish was LIFE CHANGING. I mean it. It was buttery, garlicky awesome in a bowl... with perfectly cooked shrimp and just the right amount of kick (Spicy = 7). Yum, yum, yum!! My husband was jealous that he didn't order it... he made me share (and i didn't want to!). Order this - you'll love it!!!

Qnguyen7917 about 2 months ago

Shrimp Scampi

This dish is sooo good! My favorite! The garlic buttery sauce is delicious and the shrimp is always cooked nicely. I order it at the spiciness level of 10, making the sauce even tastier. I really recommended.

Kingkongmtsac1109 about 2 months ago

Bacon Wrapped Shrimp

The shrimp is very big and the taste is very good

Yodarod 2 months ago

Combo Pan Roast

Excellent food and presentation. The Staff was courteous and efficient. Good selection of beers and one MUST try the fried pickles!

Donmaddas 2 months ago

House Pan Roast

OMG.... The huge shrimp and chunks of lobster along with all the crab in this heavenly creamy tomato bisque with the right amount of CAJUN SEASONING is absolutely to die for....🤩🤩🤩

Amanda 2 months ago

Cilantro Chicken

AMAZING flavor!!! Everything I was hoping it would be and more! Craving it again as I type the review! The bacon wrapped shrimp and fried pickles are also amazing! Would recommend 100%

Reinav20 3 months ago

Bread Pudding

Left me wanting more!!! Perfect to eat after a tasty meal. It's perfection.

Nhawileh 3 months ago

Bouillabaisse

This was my first time at Ritter's. I was going to order the basic stuff, po'boy sandwich or clam chowder. I asked the waiter about the bouillanbaise because I had never tried this dish & was a little apprehensive to order it. The waiter assured me I'd like it. I didn't like it, I LOVED it!!! It was one of the best seafood dishes I've had. It's filled with delicious shrimp, crab, lobster, clams & mussels. I'm going again tomorrow before we go back to Phoenix. Wish we had Ritter's in Arizona.

Sideshow346 3 months ago

House Pan Roast

I have seen this restaurant on yelp and finally gave it a try. The Pan Roast was REALLY good!!!! I am dying to return to get the Cioppino and jambalaya next. If you like cajun or creole, this is definitely the place

Valerie031 3 months ago

House Pan Roast

We were in New Orleans in May and were missing the flavors. Imagine our surprise when vacationing in Huntington Beach to find this gem of a restaurant! The house gumbo was also amazing and loved our service. The decor of the restaurant was beautiful! We will visit the Alhambra location soon as already going through withdrawals!

C 3 months ago

Crab Pan Roast

Best pan roast that I've ever tried! It is well seasoned and rice is cooked to perfection. Would definitely come back and highly recommend it. Thinking about the food is making me hungry.

Rjnmama 4 months ago

House Pan Roast

I love Ritters! The house pan roast is my fav dish but you can't go wrong, all the dishes are delicious! Ritters is my fav restaurant, the food is so tasty and they have great customer service. Highly recommended!

Karan 4 months ago

Jambalaya

It was delicious! I live in Fullerton always make the trip out there to HB for my favorite southern dish in OC. Ritters is the spot for cajun food and beer!

Edvia 4 months ago

Etouffee

I grew up in Texas (not quite Louisiana, but close enough to know good creole from bad), and one of my favorite dishes is crawfish etoufee. Ever since moving to CA, I've struggled to find good cajun/creole cuisine—some can be okay, some not-so-much, almost none are excellent (in my opinion). So I tried Ritter's for lunch with some trepidation, and was pleasantly surprised by the etoufee, as it was very, very good. Probably the best I've had in SoCal. There were shrimp too, not just crawfish (though it had plenty of those critters in there!) and HUGE portions. In fact, this is probably the first time in my life I've had to take home leftovers when eating etoufee! Needless to say, I'll be back. I'm curious to try more of the menu (those bacon-wrapped shrimp sound killer), but the etoufee is so good, I may just end up ordering that over and over again.

Chavenia0226 4 months ago

Chicken & Sausage Pan Roast

I LOVE this place! Talk about Down Home cooking without all the work! They have many traditional dishes that taste almost has good as my Granny's creole cooking. I had the chicken and sausage Pan Roast with shrimp added, at a piping 10 seasoning level and it was excellent. If you cajun food, you must give this place a try!



PAST DRAWING WINNERS

October:
Andy, Backwoods Brewing Co., Portland, OR

September:
Amanda, Home Restaurant, Los Angeles, CA

August:
Jennifer, Mark's City Grill - Columbus, GA

July:
Rebecca, Frank Gourmet - Buffalo, NY

June:
Donna, Dino's Sports Bar - Cape Cod, MA

May:
Karen, This Little Pig - Amherst, NY

April:
Alicia, Plant Based Pizzeria - Atlanta, GA